Chamber Insider Blog

Loudoun Youth’s Melvin Named George C. Marshall Award Winner

via Loudoun Now, original article here, photo via Loudoun Now

Congratulations to Jared, a very active Chamber member and a dear friend to all he meets!

Loudoun Youth’s Melvin Named George C. Marshall Award Winner

The Leesburg Town Council and Leesburg Economic Development Commission recognized outstanding Leesburg businesses and individuals during the 15th Annual Business Appreciation Awards on Wednesday night.

“Small business is the foundation of the Leesburg community, and tonight we are here to celebrate your stories and your successes,” Leesburg Mayor Dave Butler said to a packed room at the Ida Lee Recreation Center.

Loudoun Youth leader Jared Melvin was given the George C. Marshall Award, which recognizes an individual who has demonstrated an exemplary commitment to the community above and beyond business.

“Positive changes in the community begin with developing young leaders, and Jared Melvin leads that charge,” said Pat Daly, president and CEO of the George C. Marshall International Center. Melvin and Loudoun Youth also won honorable mention for the Community Steward Award.

Honorable mention for that award went to entrepreneur Ara Bagdasarian.

“He has boundless energy, phenomenal focus and the vision of a superhero,” Daly said.

Loudoun Now was given the New Business Award, which recognizes a new business “that is respectful of Leesburg’s past and represents the best of the town’s future.”

“Social media, community events, business events, and government meetings are covered by eight people focused on a high level of responsiveness, community awareness and accuracy,” EDC Chairwoman Gwen Pangle said.

Other award winners were:

  • Rising Star: Bank of Clarke County
  • Veterans Affairs: Hire Our Heros
  • Public Art: Friends of Leesburg Public Art
  • Innovation Raj Kalra, Mover Junction
  • Home-based Business: Kristi and Sean Quill, Barn Owl Primitives
  • Heritage Award: Michael O’Connor, Kingdom Enterprises
  • Environmental: Leesburg Garden Club
  • Community Steward: Iris Kotmel
  • Ambassador: Paige Buscema, Eyetopia

The Nomination Review Committee was Pat Daly, Marshall House; Greg Harp, Visit Loudoun; Jennifer Montgomery, Loudoun Interfaith Relief; Roger Maddox; Mindy Whang, China King; and Rusty Foster, Bow Tie Strategies.

via Loudoun Now, original article here, photo via Loudoun Now