Chamber Insider Blog

Acts of Valor: Loudoun Chamber honors 178 local heroes at 33rd Annual Loudoun County Valor Awards

                                Monday, April 23, 2018
Contact: Andrea Lucas,
Senior Communications Manager,
Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce
(571) 209-9034


Acts of Valor: Loudoun Chamber honors 178 local heroes
at 33rd Annual Loudoun County Valor Awards April 20th


Recently retired Fire Chief Keith Brower honored with
Stu Plitman Community Service Award; 18 civilians among honorees

Loudoun County, VA – It was a historic day on Friday, April 20, 2018, when the Loudoun County business community gathered to honor 160 heroic first responders and 18 equally courageous civilians at the 33rd Annual Loudoun Annual Valor Awards.

Both the total number of Valor Awards presented on April 20th, and the 18 civilian awards, are the most ever granted by the Loudoun Chamber at its annual salute to the acts of selfless heroism displayed by first responders and ordinary citizens during emergency situations.

“It is a privilege to honor these courageous first responders and citizens for their acts of Valor and for their dedication to the safety of our community. Every day of the year, our law enforcement and fire and safety personnel put on a uniform and dedicate themselves to keeping Loudoun County safe and prosperous. It is important that the Loudoun County business community take this one day to say, “Thank You” to these real-life heroes for all they do for our community,” said Loudoun Chamber President Tony Howard.

The Loudoun County Chamber also presented W. Keith Brower, the recently retired Chief of the Loudoun County Fire and Rescue Department, the Stu Plitman First Responder Community Service Award. Stu Plitman was the founder of the Loudoun First Responders Foundation and a tireless advocate for Loudoun’s public safety personnel. This award honors emergency first responders who demonstrate the highest commitment to fostering positive relationships with the Loudoun community in ways that enhance the safety and security of our citizens.

Sponsors include: Signature Sponsor, Inova Loudoun Hospital; Heroism Sponsor, StoneSprings Hospital Center; Guardian Sponsors, Amazon Web Services, Bank of Clarke County, Mesh Omnimedia, Loudoun Firefighters Association, Loudoun Times-Mirror, and Tribute at One Loudoun; Bravery Sponsors, Ashby Ponds, Backflow Technology, LLC, Bechtel, Dominion Energy, and The National; Photography Sponsor: Sean O’Rourke Photography; Print Sponsor, Copy General; Floral Sponsor, Open Blooms, and Gift Sponsor. The George C. Marshall International Center. For more information on the awards, visit our website: